Miss Abigail Alexandra Evans

Consultant Breast, Endocrine and Thyroid Surgeon

BSc (Hons), MBBS, MD, FRCS(General Surgery)

Year qualified:


Request a booking


Personal profile

Miss Evans graduated from St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College, London in 1987. Her General Surgical Training was undertaken in South West London and Wessex. She undertook a period of research at the Royal Marsden Hospital leading to the award of an MD in 1998. She underwent specialist training in breast, thyroid and parathyroid surgery and oncology at the Royal Marsden and Hammersmith Hospitals in London and as a Senior Fellow at the Royal Adelaide Hospital, South Australia.

Miss Evans was appointed to her Consultant post in Poole as a General Surgeon in 1999. She is the Clinical Lead for the Poole Breast Unit encompassing the management of all aspects of screening and symptomatic breast disease and is also Clinical Lead for Endocrine Surgical Services including thyroid and parathyroid surgery.  She currently chairs the Dorset Breast Group (previously Breast NSSG), Dorset Endocrine MDT and the Poole Breast MDT.

Miss Evans has extensive experience in the management of breast cancer, personally treating over 200 newly diagnosed breast cancers a year. All private patients are managed through the Poole Hospital breast multidisciplinary team and according to national guidance. Miss Evans offers immediate and delayed breast reconstruction, symmetrising breast surgery, nipple areolar reconstruction and breast reduction.

Miss Evans also has specialist expertise in endocrine and thyroid surgery, including the management of thyroid cancer and primary hyperparathyroidism.

Miss Evans has extensive experience in national and international clinical trial recruitment for breast cancer.  

Professional Membership

  • GMC

  • MDU

  • Association of Breast Surgeon

  • British Association of Endocrine and Thyroid Surgeons

Clinical Interests

  • Breast cancer

  • Oncoplastic breast surgery

  • Breast reconstruction

  • Breast reduction

  • Thyroid cancer

  • Primary hyperparathyroidism

  • Clinical trials

Request an appointment

Please complete the form below, making sure you provide us with as much detail as possible. We aim to answer all enquiries within 24 hours, but due to high volume we sometimes might not be able to do so

*Required field.

Title *
First Name *
Last Name *
Email Address *
Daytime tel *
Postcode *
Hospital *
Type of enquiry
How would you prefer to fund your treatment? *
Please use this box to tell us more about your enquiry
(Max 500 characters)

500 Characters remaining

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.