Professor Ian Pearce

Consultant Urological Surgeon and Andrologist

BMed (Sci), BMBS, FRCS (Urol)

Professional Memberships

  • British Association of Urological Surgeons, (BAUS)
  • International Continence Society

Clinical Interests

Andrology and functional urology including:

  • Male bladder
  • Benign prostate problems
  • Female incontinence
  • Chronic bladder conditions

Current NHS and /or University Posts

  • Manchester Foundation Trust

Useful Links

Personal profile

Ian Pearce was appointed Consultant Urological Surgeon to Manchester Royal Infirmary in 2002 after attending medical school in Nottingham and having trained in Urology in Stoke and the North West Region. Ian has a specialist interest in female urology including urinary incontinence and urinary tract infection and Andrology covering all aspects of male sexual dysfunction including premature ejaculation, erectile dysfunction and Peyronies disease. As the regional expert in andrology, Ian is now the largest implanter of penile prostheses in the North West and has the largest Peyronies disease practice in the area, having recently introduced collagenase therapy into the region as the only trained and experienced administrator of this new therapy for Peyronies Disease.

Ian has published over 100 papers and has lectured extensively around the world. He is honorary Professor at the University of Salford and honorary senior lecturer at the University of Manchester. As well as being the Editor in Chief of the Journal of Clinical Urology, Ian also sits on the editorial boards of a further 8 journals and maintains an active clinical research portfolio.

In addition to being the Clinical Head of Surgery at Manchester Royal Infirmary, Ian is an advisor to NICE, the MRHA, and the NIHR and serves on several national committees including the British Association of Urological Surgeons Education Committee, The Section of Academic Urology Executive Committee and The Urology Foundation Scientific Committee.

Ian is currently a Trustee and council member of the British Association of Urological Surgeons and has been elected honorary treasurer between 2017 and 2019

Year qualified: